Reviews

If you have already read this book and would take a few minutes to share your thoughts about it with others, I would greatly appreciate your input. Simply leave your review, thoughts or other critique as a comment to this post for others to read. Thank you!

4 Comments

  1. larry · March 14, 2014

    Filly Tierney says:
    February 7, 2014 at 4:04 pm Edit
    Sherry ~
    Received your book last week and finished it last night.
    Wonderful job of conveying the desperate plight of women during this time-period.
    Books like yours should be required reading for today’s teenage girls who cannot begin to fathom the hardships and cruelty that women endured to achieve the progress made for women’s rights. Indeed, even to be treated as persons and not property was an almost insurmountable task.
    Keep in mind that black men had the right to vote 50 years before women did.

    I hope you keep reminding us what women went through.
    Perhaps the next book could have even more emphasis on suffragettes?

    I shall be contacting Scott County’s Adult Services Librarian, Melissa Gibson to get her to schedule a reading/book signing when the snow has disappeared.

  2. larry · March 14, 2014

    Shaun says:
    December 29, 2013 at 3:10 pm Edit
    What an amazing book! I usually have a hard time getting through a book without distractions however the characters in this story kept me from sitting the book down. I finished reading it in 2 days which is fast for me. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next.
    Shaun

  3. larry · March 14, 2014

    Lynette VanMeter says:
    December 27, 2013 at 4:25 pm Edit
    Hey Sherry, This is Lynette VanMeter,Gayla and Tim’s friend. I read Asylum this past week-end, and I could not put it down! I even found myself waking up during the night, and thinking about THE BOOK! I would even wake up in the moring, and you guessed it, thinking about the book. I was so intrigued with every aspect of each chapter.Some of your poems even made me cry. You are a very talented writer. I can’t wait for your next book, and meeting you again. Good luck in anything you do. Take care, and wishing you and your a ver, very Merry Christmas!
    Lynette VanMeter

  4. Sherry Logsdon · May 1, 2014

    Official Review: Asylum by Sherry Logsdon
    Post Number:#1 by samuyama » 22 Apr 2014, 14:08
    Following is the official OnlineBookClub.org review of “Asylum” by Sherry Logsdon

    “Asylum” by Sherry Logsdon is a historical fiction meant to shed light on the various atrocities endured by many women, whose struggles were unjustly silenced or dismissed merely because of who they were. The story follows the life of Isobel McFadden as various atrocities endured by women during the early 1900s are revealed through her eyes.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The author does an incredible job bringing the story to life, allowing the reader to really be with Isobel as she endures witnessing so much injustice to women but feeling unable to do anything about it. I stopped numerous times throughout the story just stunned on realizing what some people endured not even 100 years ago.

    Despite all the gloom throughout the story there is a definite sense of hope. Isobel is always working to make the best of her situation. Even though it’s a fictitious story seeing things work out for her gave me a sense of hope, if she could make it through and come out on top everyone’s got a chance. Logsdon incorporates a beautiful use of poetry as a way for Isobel to cope with her struggles and express a deep part of her soul. Each poem is elegantly written, mysterious yet relatable. As someone who normally skips that kind of stuff in books I found myself taking time to read a few of them over again.

    The story goes at a great pace. No part felt too long-winded or too abrupt. I enjoyed each chapter and the stories they shared, and I was pleasantly surprised by an imaginative plot twist near the end. It went by rather quickly, so it took me some reminding that what I was reading covered the entire span of a person’s life, decades. Yes, Isobel’s life improves dramatically throughout the story, but part of the bittersweet-ness of it all is recognizing how slow the process was for her and how long she had to endure in the meantime. I believe the beauty of this story lies in Isobel’s effort to experience each day as best she can, showing kindness in whatever way possible, no matter how small.

    I rate this book 4 out of 4 stars. The world is a big place with lots of big things to write about. This book takes time to focus on the life of a single individual and celebrate the simple goodness she brought to the world and those around her. It was a true pleasure to sit on the coach and read through each page, always wondering what would happen next. But beyond that, it was one of those rare books that caused me to take a moment to reflect on the lives of others and the good fortune I’ve experienced in my life.